Por fin

It only took 5 days, but Spain now has a medal – two, in fact! Mireia Belmonte García won silver in the 200-meter butterfly, and just today, Maialen Chourraut won the bronze in the K-1 kayaking competition. Spain’s basketball team gets to play Great Britain in about an hour, and tennis and handball should be watched closely as well.

 

It is hard for me to believe that just one year ago, I was getting ready to go to Spain. I read the posts on Facebook from the new crowd of auxiliares, and it makes me both proud and a little disbelieving that I was doing the exact same thing, and that here I am one year later, a former expat! I’ve made contact with the person who will be taking my job, and both she and I are super excited about the upcoming year.

 

I’m working on that “Travels” menu up at the top of the page . . . very slowly. Perhaps once the school year begins again and I have an office to think and work in again, I’ll work more on those pages. Right now the only one that is finished is Alcalá de los Gazules, but I have a Cádiz city page in the works, and eventually I want to have a page for every place I have visited. The perfectionist in me doesn’t want me to write them unless they are stellar though, which is why it’s taking so long. I go to write something, and then I think, wait, where was that place? When did I go there? What did the tour guide say about the history? Then I need to do research and I get distracted, and the next thing I know, it’s 5 hours later and I still haven’t written anything.

 

What I did do was finish my scrapbook. It turned out really well, and I had fun making each city name look like some famous emblem; one of the Ls in Sevilla is the Giralda, Bilbao has the Guggenheim coming out of the top of the letters . . . I still have quite the collection of maps, and I’m looking forward to putting them up in my office. Perhaps I haven’t mentioned enough, but this year I get my own office at work. No more sharing with other teachers who just want to talk to you . . . ahhhh. It’s a nice feeling.

Leave a Reply

