Settling in

So Friday was the day I wanted to finish everything I had to do to make my rented house a real home. To me, that means getting Internet set up. That probably sounds a little silly to many of you, and by the end of this story, I felt silly myself when confronted with my obvious addiction to the Web. But let’s just blame this on me being emotional from living in a new country . . .

 

I mentioned in my last post that the Movistar store in Alcalá was not willing to set up an account for me without a NIE (Número de Identidad de Extranjeros). What I didn’t mention was that, thanks to Facebook, I had heard of people who were able to do just that. As Friday went on, I got more and more anxious and upset at the lack of Internet in my house, fueled by the knowledge that SOME people SOMEwhere were NIE-less and Internet-full. The end result being that Dad and I drove BACK to Cádiz so that I could wander around from wireless store to wireless store, trying to find a company that would hook me up. Really, I don’t know what I would have done without Dad. The result of that trip was . . . no Internet. Bah! But I did feel less stressed about it all at the end.

 

On Saturday, Dad and I played tourist again and drove into Sevilla. We visited the Plaza de España and the Jardines de María Luisa, and I will totally have to go back again, because one day is just not enough to appreciate a town like Sevilla. Once again, there would be pictures, but alas, you will have to wait some more.

 

Dad left for the US early Sunday morning and I started work Monday! I’ll post later about my impressions of work, but for now, I have a class to teach. Tomorrow I will be taking a weekend trip to Portugal, where more than likely the hotel will have Internet access (!), so I will be back on Skype and back to uploading pictures.

2 Responses to Settling in

  1. anacademicinspain says:

    You were right and I was right. The internet here is very poor unless I sit in the lobby next to the reception desk and let everyone listen to my Skype calls. Ah well.

  2. Lauren says:

    Not to add to your Internet sorrows, but when I went to Lisboa and stayed in a hotel I thought the same thing. Lo and behold, Internet was available… but not free. And barely functional after I paid for it. Hope you have better luck!

Leave a Reply

