Madrid!

First of all, I would like to apologize to the 12 people yesterday and the 2 people today who obviously thought that after posting about waiting for my flight, I would post about arriving to Spain. All of you were sadly mistaken, as I spent my first 24 hours in Europe being either a tourist, exhausted, being an exhausted tourist, or unconscious.

Our flight from Dulles left at 11:20, and I was really hoping to sleep during almost all of it. Instead, I finally cracked open (can I really say that for an e-book?) the first part of the Hunger Games Trilogy, which I downloaded to my Kindle right before I went to the beach earlier this summer. Several hours later, I watched Kung Fu Panda 2, and then we touched down in Heathrow. So much for sleep. A confusing layover later, we got on the plane for Madrid.

 

Once we landed in Madrid, it seemed like every task we did took much longer than I thought it should. Maybe I was just tired, but it seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to go through customs, get our luggage, find the rental car place, get the rental car, drive to the hotel, check in . . . I could have gone to sleep right then, at 6:30 pm. However, my dad and I made ourselves go out and get some dinner. It was a Sunday evening and this is Spain, so most places were closed, but we found a little bar and got sandwiches. I attempted to spend the rest of the evening reading Hunger Games 2.0 but after closing my eyes for less than 5 seconds, I jerked awake when the Kindle fell out of my hands. I gave up and went to sleep at 9:30.

 

12 hours later, I finally got up to go the bathroom. I could have easily slept longer, but there was a city to see! So we went to breakfast and then got out of the hotel to go to the Museo Reina Sofía. This is the modern art museum here in Madrid, and I was eager to see some Picasso and Dalí. The Guernica exhibit was particularly good. There were all the sketches and the preliminary paintings that Picasso did before painting the mural, as well as photos of the mural in progress, a video of the bombing of Guernica, and of course, the painting itself. The Dalí section was a little disappointing, mostly because the paintings I am most familiar with were not in the Reina Sofía.

 

Dad and I got something to drink at a little café outside of the museum, and then I was 100% ready for a nap. But first, we went to the Atocha train station and I bought a SIM card for my cellphone! I now have a phone again, yay! If you are in Spain, comment and I’ll tell you my Spanish phone number. If you’re in the US, please just use the phone number I posted on Facebook last week. If you didn’t see that post, it probably just means I forgot to include you on those security settings, so comment here and let me know that too.

 

Anyway, nap. After we got up we just went out and wandered, and got tapas, drinks, ice cream, and dinner at various places along the way. I started to get a little uneasy just walking around the shops. Everything just seems so different from America (like it’s a whole other country!) that I got overwhelmed thinking about trying to live my life here. I guess I will just see what happens once I have an apartment.

 

Tomorrow Dad and I are going to be driving to Rota. I expect many more fun stories to happen, so stay tuned!

One Response to Madrid!

  1. Julie DiBlasi says:

    sounds like you are having a great time

Leave a Reply

